{Prayers for Francis}

When I moved to Panama City in the middle of my freshman year from Japan, I  met Francis.  And we quickly became 2 peas in a pod.  Francis and I did practically everything together and most of my high school memories include her somehow.   I remember going to her house, picking her up in my little Geo Metro, and we’d make a McDonald’s run just because we could.  We’d always order happy meals just to be goofy.  And goodness we thought we were the coolest people EVER when the Camaro came along.  I remember the year we both made the Ramette squad together and we burst into squeals and hugged each other when we saw our names on that list posted by the gym door.  We had band camps, bus rides, and competitions.  And just about everytime I had french braided her gorgeous hair and did her makeup.  We had Azalea Trail, antebellum dress shopping, and fake flower runs so we could make our hats.  Calendar Girl wins that left us psyched every time.  There were proms and prom dresses that were dubbed Barney.  Frannie and Tornie- we were inseperable and the very best of friends. 

Fast forward husbands, kids, and 12 years later life had just gotten in the way.  It’s amazing though, any time we run into each other or have lunch it is like no time has passed at all.  About a week ago Francis’s little sister Lois sent me a chat message telling me Francis had been diagnosed with a brain tumor.  Before I knew it tears streamed down my face.  I hate that my dear sweet friend is being faced with this.  They found out yesterday it wasn’t cancerous and her surgery date has been set for November 30th.  Please send as many good thoughts and prayers as you can for Francis and her family.   There is more information about Francis’s condition on a blog started by her sisters Lois and Farris to keep everyone updated on how Francis is doing.  You can read about it here

I was asked to meet them and get some pictures of their family.  Here are some of my favorites from our time together

I admire you so much Frannie for how you have handled everything.  You are the epitome of grace and elegance.  If you need anything at all, I am here for you

~ by toripiercy on November 6, 2009.

18 Responses to “{Prayers for Francis}”

  1. Goodness, I hope she has a quick recovery. She’s just as gorgeous as in high school, just like you!! Our thoughts will definitely be with her and her family.

  2. Aw Tori, that was so sweet. I have so many good memories of you two from that time too. Thanks for being such a great friend to Frannie!!

  3. Tori! These are absolutely amazing! I love them! The way you capture what looks to be very candid photographs is amazing! Thank you so much for catching our emotion at such a hard time for us, it was wonderful to be able to get these done. I love you as much now (all these years later) as I did then. We are connected in ways that cannot be expressed in words and I’m so glad that when needed we still have each other! I love you dearly!

  4. These are lovely Tori! You really did a great job!

  5. Those are sooo beautiful Tori!! I think you got some really awesome images!!

  6. Beautiful! The words and the pictures. Francis is just as pretty as she was in high school…haven’t seen her since then 🙂 As Brook and I were the best of friends for many years back then…I felt that Francis was my cousin too! I am absolutely thinking of her and her family now and am thankful that you guys are keeping us up to date. God Bless.

  7. Great job Tori beautiful captures

  8. This makes me want to cry!!! SO beautiful! Praying for your friend — and her children look like angels with that blonde hair!!

  9. wonderful inspiring work! I love the love you captured!

  10. what a gift you gave your friend and her family!!
    these are beautiful!

  11. You did such a beautiful job on these photos…prayers going out for your friend!

  12. I love these Tori- you did such a wonderful job. I bet she will love them. THe story behind these makes them even more touching.

  13. Love these. They have so much emotion in them!

  14. Tor!! You captured the true beauty of this families love for each other!!
    Just lovely:)

  15. How special that you were able to give your good friend these memories! Beautiful lady ad beautiful work….prayers for you Frannie!!!!!

  16. Tori you captured some unbelievably emotional and sweet moments for your friend and her family. I hope she has a complete and fast recovery.

  17. Tori, The pictures of you and Francise are amazing. I remember her sweet spirit in High School as well (and Calendar Girl). I am certainly praying for her and I have asked the Lord to help me remember her in prayer everyday until after her surgery. Please tell her that my whole family will be asking for God to walk beside her in this and heal her. We are praying for her beautiful family, too. xoxox and May God richly Bless both your families- Victoria Conner

Leave a Reply

 
